[News] Ayumi Hamasaki: J-pop Queen Loses Hearing in One Ear

According to Ayumi Hamasaki’s own blog entries, she has been diagnosed with permanent, irreparable damage to her left ear. Currently, she can still hear out of that ear, however, soon it shall be completely deaf. This means that she will be impaired in her singing abilities. Already, the effects of this impairment have been seen on popular J-pop year end shows, including Ayu’s own Countdown Live for 2007 into 2008. However, this damage to her left ear has been around for quite some time, ever since her Dome Tour in 2001, where she continued to perform despite hearing having hearing problems. This perseverance, although commendable and bold, has ultimately cost her hearing and jeopardized her performance capability.

Already, the support from the J-pop community has been massive. Ayumi Hamasaki originally revealed her left ear’s hearing loss on her blog, and on her blog she replied to her fans. She has given them hope, and in true Ayu spirit, she will continue onward and produce music for them. From a musical standpoint, Ayumi Hamasaki is still capable of creating quality music even with this problem; one need look no further than the digital release, “Together When…,” which was excellently done and performed well on the charts. Ayu even performed well on some shows, despite ragged vocals on others. We can only hope that Ayumi Hamasaki will continue to work through this problem and show us her strength in her music. We all wish her the best during this hard time.

————–

Here are the original blog posts from Ayu – they are both heartfelt and sincere (these are translated courtesy of HiruNoKaze of AHS).

My frank resolution for this year.

The truth is, last year, I had an ear check-up, my diagnosis being that my left ear has completely lost all function and that there is no treatment.

Even so, I want to keep being a singer.

That’s why I’ll keep singing as long as this remaining right ear works, to its limit.

I won’t quit.

I won’t make excuses.

As a professional, I will sing the best songs for you*.

I don’t really like the word “ganbaru,” but…

I will ganbaru**!!!!! At all costs!!!!!!!!!

Until that day, someday… 

————–

” No.205 January 5th, 2008 (Saturday) 1:13am

The volume of messages from you all is amazing, I decided to post again.*

Mhmm” … “Hey,” … “Yea…”

I have always, as much as I can, meant to keep honestly conveying my own feelings with my own words. I think you all definitely understand this.

Yes…right, I believe.
That’s why…I write.
I write things I keep only in my heart, not even telling my beloved family members nor my staff.

Actually, no…strictly speaking, that’s not true.
I only told Mama (I mean Mika John).
That my left ear cannot hear anymore.

I thought of going to the hospital because I felt distinctly that something strange happened to my ear.
I thought it was the earphone monitors and told the people around me I wanted to switch to new ones.

Honestly, when the doctor told me that there is no treatment and that it’s too late, my mind went blank.
In my heart somewhere, I felt that if I just make the time necessary for surgery, my ear would be able to hear again.

But I was wrong.

I remember the doctor’s eyes even now.
They looked regretful and apologetic. As if to say I’m sorry there’s nothing we can do…

So, I laughed.

I didn’t know why, but I said “I thought so”, and laughed.
Surrounded by my beloved staff inside the hospital room, everything returned to silence.

But, please, I don’t want you to read this with pessimism.

I have accepted this reality.

And, I want you to understand somehow that I’m not despairing, but that the light of my hopes shines forth.

Because, you’ve told me that you will become my left ear.
You’ve told me that, so that I’ll be able to hear more and more, you’ll shout out for me.

Hey…

So, with my remaining right ear, I’m gonna do this.
I’m not at all straining myself.
To me, it’s my happiness.

Worrying is useless!!!!!!!!!!!

From here on, I going to keeping running forward like this~~~~~!!!
But, let’s keep running together~~~~~~!!!!!!

I want to show you my dreams.
Unending, unfading.
I want to show you that kind of dream.
That is my wish.

Thank you, everyone, everyone, everyone…
Thank you, Mama.
Thank you,

My beloved big sister.

Let’s do it, 10th year anniversary!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 

17 Responses to “[News] Ayumi Hamasaki: J-pop Queen Loses Hearing in One Ear”


  1. 1 JJ January 5, 2008 at 12:00 am

    … I want to cry.

  2. 2 Xacur January 5, 2008 at 12:08 pm

    Damned….
    That’s very sad.

  3. 3 Neva January 6, 2008 at 1:29 am

    I will pray for you Ayu!

  4. 4 abra January 7, 2008 at 4:46 am

    tis is so sad. I will be ur left ear!!

  5. 5 jango January 7, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    i’m crying my heart out !!!
    way do bad things happen to wonderful people ?
    T_T

  6. 6 Sasa January 21, 2008 at 7:28 pm

    Going to cry…I am crying! …sniffle…you can tell she feels very heavy hearted by her words though, no matter what she says. She’s like…30, young, no? Hey, if she sings, she likes music, right? Loves it, even when she inevitably retires, won’t she miss hearing music and everybody else? I’m thinking, she’s gutsy to keep going, nothing could be worse than a world of silence, especially for a musician….frown…tear…

  7. 7 bbchan February 12, 2008 at 4:56 am

    Don’t give up. Keep running forward with all your might!!

  8. 8 ayu fan November 26, 2008 at 6:52 pm

    ooohhhh…. poor ayu…. i feel so bad… she is an excellent singer and im glad that she is still pursuing her career and i hope that i could somehow tell her how much she just inspired me right now… i feel that if ayu can still be the great singer that she is, then i can also strive to do my best! thank you, ayu!

  9. 9 miki-chan November 26, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    Ayumi Hamasaki… my greatest wishes go out to you…. Please remember that your loyal fans are going to stick by your side no matter what, and we all are very sorry for your loss, but we WILL act as your left ear!

  10. 10 Anonymous December 3, 2008 at 2:09 pm

    im crying… i love ayu so much! but she said ‘worrying is useless’ that’s true… ill be her left ear too, no matter what i believe in ayu and i hope that she’ll manage to continue on singing because she’s the best! ayu, thank you for the music ❤

  11. 11 Johnson June 27, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    I am sad. Hopefully, there will be a cure for Hearing loss in the near future.

  12. 12 Chrs August 4, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    So so sorry to hear that. Thank you for all the joy and happiness you’ve brought your fans Ayu. (even those who can’t quite translate everything like me) 🙂

    Love you and live strong.

  13. 13 Schnarchen December 9, 2009 at 12:21 am

    I am frequently looking for brandnew infos in the WWW about this issue. Thanx!

  14. 14 Hikari_Yuki December 22, 2011 at 5:59 pm

    Ayu wa hontoni suyoii desune. Ayu chan, you are really a strong person. I feel hurt to know that it happen to you. I will support you whatever you are. Cuz you are my ideal and the person i admire. Ayu~ Keep on going! for no matter what! That’s why you are being the only one outstanding musician in Japan! I LOVE You, Ayu! =)

  15. 15 Bessie Jhoy March 10, 2012 at 6:37 pm

    I’m not much of a fan, but I did cry TT.TT

  16. 16 http://friendtalk.in December 19, 2012 at 1:05 am

    After exploring a number of the articles on your web page,
    I truly appreciate your way of writing a blog.
    I book-marked it to my bookmark site list and will be checking back in
    the near future. Please visit my web site as well and let me know your opinion.


  1. 1 Mxproject Asian Music Entertainment Blog » Blog Archive » [News] Ayumi Hamasaki: J-pop Queen Loses Hearing in One Ear Trackback on June 27, 2009 at 8:44 pm

Leave a Reply

