[Album] A.I. – DON’T STOP A.I.

ai.jpg

~Tracklist~
1. INTRO
2. DON’T STOP
3. IT’S SHOW TIME!!!
4. INTERLUDE
5. BUTTERFLY feat. ANTY the kunoichi, ANNA TSUCHIYA, PUSHIM
6. ONE
7. I’ll Remember You
8. FEEL SO GOOD
9. MOVE
10. MY SWEET HOME
11. Ima
12. THE ANSWER
13. Taisetsu na Mono
14. GET UP -REMIX- feat. SPHERE of INFLUENCE, ZEEBRA
15. BRAND NEW DAY

~Album Review (Mini-size)~
“DON’T STOP A.I.” was released December 5, 2007, and debuted at number four on the Oricon chart. It should be able to sell over 100,000 copies before it falls off of the charts.

A.I. is well seasoned at creating well-polished J-R&B; that isn’t the issue here. The problem with “DON’T STOP A.I.” lies in the fact that the album relies far too much on mid-tempo R&B. What this reliance does is ruin whatever momentum the album has. Sparingly or scattered, mid-tempo R&B is a nice breather from ballads or harder, faster R&B. Here, however, A.I. turns what’s usually a respite into the focus of the album. That means that despite creating many well-done mid-tempo tracks, the album drags. And that makes “DON’T STOP A.I.” worse than A.I.’s previous effort “What’s Going On A.I.?” Although “DON’T STOP A.I.” has its moments early on with “INTRO” and “DON’T STOP”, the album begins to drag, losing its edge by “ONE.” Halfway through the album, “DON’T STOP A.I.” has lost any promise it held. Another problem arises late in the album, as the onslaught of mid-tempo tracks continues: despite being quality songs, many of them sound the same as others on the album, to the point where you could just ignore them and choose one to listen to and be happy. Perhaps it would have been most prudent to change the pace because if it had, this album could have easily been made into one of the better in the year. Instead, “DON’T STOP A.I.” falls back into the pack, occupying the endless tier of mediocre J-pop albums.

Although “DON’T STOP A.I.” is not amazing, some of the tracks do transcend the rest. For example, “DON’T STOP” has a lot of energy that makes it stand out. Other notable tracks worth a listen are the chill collaboration “BUTTERFLY,” the memorable R&B ballad “I’ll Remember You,” and the final track, “BRAND NEW DAY.”

80% B-

3 Responses to “[Album] A.I. – DON’T STOP A.I.”


  1. 1 chuck January 19, 2008 at 1:13 am

    worst review ever. what, are you some 14 year old anime nerd?

  2. 2 asianworldmusic.blogspot.com October 1, 2009 at 4:28 am

    nice blog!!! please connect with us, thanks^^ asianworldmusic.blogspot.com

  3. 3 soundclick beats instrumentals hip ho April 14, 2014 at 6:51 pm

    I do not comment, however after looking at a great
    deal of comments on [Album] A.I. – DONT STOP A.I.
    | Hip-Pop: Jammin’ on the Pacific Rim. I actually do have a
    couple of questions for you if you do not mind. Could it be just me or does it
    look like some of the remarks look as if they are
    written by brain dead individuals? 😛 And, if you are posting on other sites, I’d like to keep up with anything fresh you
    have to post. Would you make a list of the complete urls of all your social
    community pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?


Leave a Reply

